Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
-Choose a designer from the list provided (one designer per person)
-Conduct primary and secondary research
-Write a 5-page essay about the history of the designer and brand
-Size 12 Times New Roman Font
-Give a 10-minute (timed) presentation in class accompanied with PowerPoint slides
-Submit all final documents (PowerPoint and Word), through ULearn.
Off-Campus Database Access
To access databases from off campus, click on the Database Page link below. After you click on your database, you will be asked to enter your university credentials (same as your university email).
Over 500 electronic reference books including biographies, dictionaries, and encyclopedias in the humanities, social sciences and physical sciences.
HINT: Type name of fashion designers in search box to get biographical information.
Business Insights: Global
Company profiles include SWOT analyses, company histories, financials, and management-related articles.
Business Source Complete
Company profiles (w/ SWOT analyses), industry profiles, market research reports, case studies, country reports, business-related articles, and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series.
Fashion Databases - Find Articles
WGSN (World Global Style Network)
IMPORTANT: You MUST create a FREE account or RENEW it every 90 days (every 3 months) in order to access the FASHION content and link to special features. Use this url https://jwupvdz.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.wgsn.com/edu to create or reactivate your account with your JWU email address; @wildcats.jwu.edu or @jwu.edu. Agree to the terms & conditions online. Then you can go directly to www.wgsn.com and log in with your WGSN username & password from anywhere. NAVIGATION: Use the PINK MENU tab on left side of the black bar to access "Design Tools & Resources" and link to special features such as "Colour Play" and "Tools". Go to "Reports" and link to "Trendlink." Use the briefcase/workspace icon on right side of the black menu bar to set up your project folders. IMPORTANT: YOU MUST SAVE YOUR PROJECT FOLDERS ONTO YOUR PERSONAL USB/flashdrives, otherwise they will be deleted from University computers at night. NOTE: Other content areas Advisory, Barometer, Futures, Insight, Instock, Lifestyle & Interiors, and Styletrial are not available to educational institutions or to JWU at this time.
Women's Wear Daily
CURRENT 12 months of articles and images: Key trends & news worldwide in women's and men's fashion, beauty, footwear, merchandising and the retail industries are updated daily! Photos of runway shows, trade shows, fashion shoots, red carpet events, and new products. Use the "Business" tab for the latest financial, legal, and government/trade news about these industries. See the "Markets" tab for analyses of ready-to-wear, sportswear, designer/luxury, textiles/apparel technology reports, and more. The "Media" tab shows you how the latest beauty, fashion, and retail news is covered by the advertising, film/TV, marketing, and publishing industries. PLEASE NOTE: There is no access to the archives through this website. For earlier articles, please check JWU's other databases such as Business Insights:Global and Business Source Complete.
Academic Search Complete
Scholarly, multi-discipline database providing full text articles for studies in the arts, sciences, education, humanities, social sciences, and more.
Books on Fashion Designers