Skip to main content

Tailoring Virtual Library Instruction and LibGuides to Engage Music Majors: Databases

With the emergence of online and blended music courses and degrees, library instruction and LibGuides are evolving to provide distance learners with access to music databases, scores, software, and library resources. This poster and LibGuide will provide

Music Scores - Public Domain

Music published before 1923 is now in the public domain (out of copyright).

Databases

  • British Humanities Index 
  • British Periodicals
  • Contemporary Composers Web Archive (CCWA)
  • Popular culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 : rock and roll, counterculture, peace and protest
  • The Sixties : primary documents and personal narratives 1960-1974
  • Ethnomusicology Research Guides (University of Washington Libraries)
  • Online Resources for Music Scholars (Harvard Libraries)
  • MusRef (Brigham Young University)
  • More Music Databases
  • British Humanities Index
  • British Periodicals
  • Cambridge Companions Online
  • Contemporary Composers Web Archive (CCWA)
  • Early English Books Online
  • Encyclopedia of Popular Music
  • Ethnographic Sound Archives Online
  • Ethnomusicology Research Guides (University of Washington Libraries)
  • FTCO (Frescobaldi Thematic Catalog Online)
  • Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
  • IPA Source (International Phonetic Alphabet)
  • IPM (Index to Printed Music)
  • JSTOR
  • MGG Online: Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart
  • Music Festivals Database
  • Music Magazine Archive: Rock Magazine Archive and Folk Magazine Archive
  • Music Periodicals Database
  • MusRef (Brigham Young University)
  • Online Resources for Music Scholars (Harvard Libraries)
  • Oxford Bibliographies Online. Music
  • Oxford History of Western Music
  • Oxford Music Online
  • Oxford Reference
  • Popular culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 : rock and roll, counterculture, peace and protest
  • Printed Sacred Music in Europe 1500-1800
  • Project Muse
  • RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
  • RIPM (Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals Full Text)
  • RIPM Preservation Series.  European & North American Music Periodicals.
  • RISM (International Inventory of Musical Sources)
  • Rock's Backpages
  • Sonic Dictionary
  • Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000
  • The Sixties : primary documents and personal narratives 1960-1974