Skip to main content

MLA Style 8th edition: Creating a Citation

Anatomy of a Citation

Citations or entries in your Works Cited list are made up of core elements. These core elements are what describe a source so you and your reader can find them.

By identifying the core elements, you are answering the following questions:

  • Who is the author of the source?
  • What is the title of the source?
  • How was the source published?
  • Where did you find the source?
  • When was the source published?

This applies to all sources. (MLA Handbook, 8th edition, p.13).

When creating your citation, you want to write it in the order specified below. Each element is followed by the punctuation mark shown, unless it is the last element, which will be followed by a period. Some elements are optional depending on the source you are citing. (MLA Handbook, 8th edition, p.20

Credit: Works Cited: A Quick Guide (MLA Style Center)

What type of source do you need to cite? Book, article, website, etc.?

See examples on the right showing how the core elements are applied to different sources.

Core Elements and Types of Sources

How do the core elements become a citation on your Works Cited page? 

An Essay in a Book Collection

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              

                                                      Credit: Works Cited: A Quick Guide (MLA Style Center)         

How do the core elements of an eBook become a citation on your Works Cited page?


1. Author. Krampner, Jon.
2. Title of Source. Creamy & Crunchy: An Informal History of Peanut Butter, the All-American Food.

CONTAINER 1 (BOOK INFO)


3. Title of container,
4. Other contributors,
5. Version,
6. Number,
7. Publisher, Columbia University Press,
8. Publication date, 2013.
9. Location.  

CONTAINER 2 (DATABASE INFO)


3. Title of container, eBook Academic Collection,  (NAME OF DATABASE YOU FOUND EBOOK IN)
4.Other contributors,
5. Version,
6. Number,
7. Publisher,
8. Publication date,  
9. Location. http://search.ebscohost.com.jwunmiz.idm.oclc.org/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=944982&site=ehost-live.  (URL)

Works Cited List Entry:

Krampner, Jon. Creamy & Crunchy: An Informal History of Peanut Butter, the All-American FoodColumbia University Press, 2013. eBook Academic Collectionhttp://search.ebscohost.com.jwunmiz.idm.oclc.org/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=944982&site=ehost-live.

 

How do the core elements of an article from a library database become a citation in your Works Cited page?

A Journal Article Retrieved from a Database

                                        

                                                Credit: Works Cited: A Quick Guide (MLA Style Center)

**PLEASE NOTE: YOU CAN BE MORE SPECIFIC. USE THE TITLE OF THE DATABASE YOU ARE SEARCHING AS THE TITLE OF YOUR 2ND CONTAINER (SUCH AS ACADEMIC SEARCH COMPLETE OR BUSINESS SOURCE COMPLETE).**

How do the core elements of a web site become a citation on your Works Cited page?

A Video on a Website

        

                                                              

                                                                  Credit: Works Cited: A Quick Guide (MLA Style Center)

How do the core elements of a YouTube video become a citation on your Works Cited page?


1. Author.  
2. Title of Source. "What's Hot in 2016 Culinary Forecast."

CONTAINER 1 

3. Title of container, YouTube,
4. Other contributors,
5. Version,
6. Number,
7. Publisher, National Restaurant Association,
8. Publication date, 5 Nov. 2015,
9. Location. https://youtu.be/cUTTbHSakmQ.

 


Works Cited List Entry:

"What's Hot in 2016 Culinary Forecast." YouTubeNational Restaurant Association, 5 Nov. 2015, https://youtu.be/cUTTbHSakmQ.

How do the core elements of a video found in a library database become a citation on your Works Cited page?


1. Author.  
2. Title of Source. "Diet Confidential."

CONTAINER 1 (INFO ABOUT VIDEO)


3. Title of container,
4. Other contributors,
5. Version,
6. Number,
7. Publisher, Canadian Braodcasting Corp.,
8. Publication date, 2006.
9. Location.  

CONTAINER 2 (DATABASE INFO)


3. Title of container, Films on Demand,  (NAME OF DATABASE YOU FOUND VIDEO IN)
4.Other contributors,
5. Version,
6. Number,
7. Publisher,
8. Publication date,  
9. Location. https://jwunmiz.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=238548&xtid=37467. (URL)

Works Cited List Entry:

"Diet Confidential." Canadian Braodcasting Corp., 2006. Films on Demandhttps://jwunmiz.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=238548&xtid=37467.

Loading ...